Survivalist Forum banner

Scope Sighting Question

2K views 5 replies 4 participants last post by  MattB4 
#1 ·
OK, I feel like an idiot but... While I have been hunting for years and spent 21 years in the Military.. I am just now getting into scopes

I went to range today with my new rifle and scope and am totally confused.

My scope has UP and RIGHT on the adjustments... I thought moving the adjustment UP would move the Impact UP but after doing some research it appears I am wrong... it moves the cross hair up which moves the impact down...

I did manage to get in the black but only after removing the bolt.. looking through the barrel and adjusting the scope (at 50 yards)

So am I correct in assuming that if the impact is 2" low and 2" left I need to adjust the scope 2" down and 2" left...

Also I read some place that if you aim at the bulls eye - fire one round and then re-aim at the bulls eye with the rifle locked in place and then adjust your scope so it is aimed at the where the first round hit.. you will get a pretty zero from that...

#2 ·
The directions SHOULD move the IMPACT of the round up/right as marked, however, if your scope came with a manual then I would suggest consulting it to make sure. As I understand it, it is pretty much an industry standard that the directions are the same across the board, however, it can possibly still vary between scope manufactures. Every scope I have owned is the way I mentioned.

Now to correct zero after firing. Keep you weapon locked in place. Figure out how much each click on your adjustment knobs is worth in inches at whatever range you are shooting at. ( i.e. 1/3 MOA adjustments at 100m would mean 3 clicks = 1" of movement of the impact of the rounds)

Fire 3 well aimed rounds (this minimizes the effect of wind, changes in stock weld, poor trigger control ect.)