Survivalist Forum banner

Municipal Sewer

2K views 16 replies 12 participants last post by  contact00 
#1 ·
I have been considering the possibly ill effects for those connected to a municipal sewage line that leads to a treatment facility. In the case this facility fails in a post SHTF situation I would think the sewage would slowly begin to back up and eventually come back into your toilets, sinks and tubs.
It is one thing to deal with the waste of you and you closest. It is another to have the rest of the neihborhood's flow into your home.

Is this a legit concern?
Has anyone set up such to disconnect themselves from the treatment grid?
Any ideas on how to complete such a project?

I am just thinking outloud hear. BTW..I am a newb here and this is my first post. I did a search and did not find anything in regards to this topic. Forgive me if this is a double.

#4 ·
A backflow wouldnt matter, if the main sewer line gets that backed up it will close the flapper, then all your sewage will get caught behind the flapper and still flow back through your house.

Get a secondary septic tank install a Y fitting at your sewer service and use a butterfly valve on both your public service and your septic service. So if your public service backs up you just have to close that valve and open the other.

On another note, if sewer ever gets that backed up, Id expect it to boil out sewer manholes first, since most houses sit above sewer manholes gravity takes effect.

#3 ·
Sewer back flow device?

I am a certified back flow device tester in MS. Not sure if I have ever seen a device for a sewer line. Potable water back flow devices depend on water pressure to work and they require clean water. They wouldn't work on a gravity sewer line from the house.