Survivalist Forum banner

top 5 or 10 survival skills?

4K views 19 replies 17 participants last post by  Gatorbait1 
#1 ·
Hello all,

I am a self professed newbie where all of this is concerned. I was wondering if any of you might have a suggestion of what might be the top 5 or 10 skills someone should learn first if their intent is to survive. Everywhere I turn in here there seems to be something being and it's somewhat overwhelming. So I figured is I had a shorter list it might be easier to get started.

I appreciate any advice given.

#2 ·
What are you surviving?

Are you lost in the woods with nothing but a knife? Are you surviving a nuclear holocaust? Are you surviving a worldwide pandemic? Are you surviving a general economic breakdown in society coupled with food shortages?

The top 5 or 10 are different for each of those. Personally, I'd say to start packing away some food for emergencies and learn to produce your own food.

#4 ·
1)finding water
2)makin fire
3)makin shelter
4)finding food
5)making cordage

Reactions: tnrick55
#5 ·
Where to start

Lets start with the question "What condition or situation am I preparing for?"
When you answer this question you can prioritize your goals.
If its wilderness survival you will have one list. If its Urban survival, you will have another.
I go back to the rule of three for priorities. 3 min without air, 3 hours without shelter, 3 days without water, 3 weeks without food, 3 months without love (hope).

If you can breath start thinking about how to protect yourself from the elements be it heat, rain, cold or whatever. Once you have a shelter think about water and water conservation. How much do you have, where will you get more, and how long can you keep it? Keep in mind that a canteen full of water does you no good. It only works for your body if you drink it. Then look to the other priorities in the same way.