Survivalist Forum banner

Are Solar Panels damaged by Solar Flares?

17K views 20 replies 18 participants last post by  andrew_paul111 
#1 ·
I'm Kinda New to The whole solar Panel thing. But it seems to me that if these panels are exposed to the atmosphere that they would or could be effected by the Solar Flares CME things.
I'm pretty well set now with every possiblity in whatever SHTF throws at me. and now I'm prepping for the Toys to keep myself entertained when not working or maybe while working. So I'm Thinking that I need a little Free energy. Before I make the Leap into buying some type of system , I want to explore "all" the possibilties. We Have a lot of steady wind here where I live and that may be another option. I heard thru reading on other sites that there are ways to protect wind turbines from solar activity, but none for solar panels....
anybody have experiance with this issue? Thanks

#2 ·
I've never read that they are.

I teach in the renewable energy area; solar PV is part of the curriculum. I've never heard of solar panels being susceptible to solar flares, and I believe I would have run across that if it were the case--especially since I look at things like that through the lens of prepping and survivalism.

Now, what that means, if it's true, is that none of the panels have been fried by any solar flares/CMEs that have happened since the advent of such panels. If we received a CME equivalent in magnitude to the Carrington Event in 1859, well, I have no information on that.

FWIW: If I had solar panels, I wouldn't worry about a normal solar flare. If I knew a Carrington Event scale CME was coming, I'd disconnect everything I could and wait it out, placing any of the equipment I could inside Faraday cages.

#3 ·
I had thought that they wouldn't be totally destroyed, but possibly be damaged in some way that the collection capabilities would be diminished.