Survivalist Forum banner

Bulk ammo vs reloading - which is cheaper?

120K views 47 replies 40 participants last post by  Eugene 
#1 ·
Has anyone done a cost comparison on which is cheaper - buying ammo in bulk retail vs reloading? I am wanting to stock up on both pistol and rifle ammo, but want to make my $$$ stretch as far as possible.

I have never done any reloading before, so there would be the initial cost of equipment on top of the powder, primers, brass, etc.

For example, I found a deal on 1000 rounds of .45 ammo for $300 - if I were to reload the same number of rounds would the cost be significantly cheaper?

I am sure that for those people who run thru alot of ammo each year that in the long run it would be more cost effective to hand load, but to be honest, other than a couple practice sessions each year my pistols dont get much use. Unless the shtf, 1000 rounds would last me the rest of my lifetime.

I am intrested in the following loading for the following: .45, .38spl, .357, and .30-06 if that helps any.

thanks

#2 ·
I got into reloading because of interest in reloading. If your only objective is to save money, unless you are going to load 10,000 rounds of 30-06 I don't think you are going to save any money at all, maybe not even then. Believe me, if you are going to reload in quantity, there are a fair number of tools you are going to want that are not cheap. I think the margin for savings is a little greater on handgun loads than rifle loads too.

With that said, I have enjoyed reloading immensely since I started. I also know that if I stock up supplies, I can keep myself ammoed up even after things sell out.

#3 ·
Well, let's try and break this down. You can get 1,000 rounds of .45ACP for $300.00

Reloading for the .45ACP --