Survivalist Forum banner

Remington 700 sps long range?

8K views 32 replies 18 participants last post by  zukiking254 
#1 ·
I'm wanting to get into some long range shooting.
I want the gun to be bolt action.
I want the gun to be .308 or 7mag
And I am between a remington 700 or browning xbolt.
I've handled a remington sps long range and browning xbolt in the store and I'm leaning towards the 700 due to ruggedness and it feels pretty good.

Has anybody ever had either one these guns and what are you experiences with them.

I'm new to the 700 world so any help would be appreciated

#2 ·
The 700 is an excellent platform straight out of the box. I have a PSS and with Federal Gold Medal 308 168gr I get 1/2min groups. The SPS comes already Aluminum bedded in a H-S Precision Stock which helps greatly inthe accuracy department. I have taken mine out to 800yrds and kept in a 8" circle using 175gr. I don't have experience with the Browning so I'll leave that one to someone who has.

#3 ·
I have self defense handguns and an ar 15 that I'm comfortable with out to 300 yrds open sight.
The reason I'm wanting a rifle like this is for hunting and general purpose but on the other side in a shtf scenario, I think a long range rifle would be handy towards a group of turds. I rather deal with turds at 800 yrds than under 300yrds. The place I have to defend I can see nearly 1500 yards in certain places.

#8 ·
I have a Leopold Mark 4 M1 Fixed 10 power with Mildot Reticle. One of the issues you might run into with higher power scopes is mirage. I've always found that 10 power is really all I need. You might be different. Having said that, if youve never shot at anything long range, say anything past 300yrds, then you gonna have to learn how to cope with more than just mirage. Wind drift, BD, dope, cosign, etc...

#12 ·