Survivalist Forum banner

Shipping container bunker

8K views 30 replies 15 participants last post by  IamZeke 
#1 ·
I am new to the forum and this may be in the wrong forum. If so, mods, feel free to move it. I know there is a ton of discussion on burying shipping containers to use as storage and shelters for SHTF situations. I have read endless threads and articles on the pros and cons of doing so. So, before you make any assumptions or post advice please read my situation and then advise.

I am not an engineer but I do work in the commercial and industrial construction industry and have welding, equipment operation, and general construction skills and I have access to all the tools and equipment I would need to complete this project. I have come up with a bracing design for using a 20' x 8' shipping container as a bunker. It would not be completely buried but buried in the side of a hill with walk up access to the front doors. My plan is as follows.
-Buy a shipping container in very good shape and make sure it is watertight.
-Paint the outside with either a thick paint or tar.
-Build the internal frame as detailed in the drawing below (I'm also not an architect so my drawing is not great, but you get the general idea). The frame would be welded together but not welded to the container itself to allow for some movement without tearing holes in the container skin.
-Excavate the hole just large enough to fit container in. The pad will be sloped slightly downhill to encourage drainage away from the container.
-Put down a #57 stone gravel pad.
-Set the container in place.
-Install intake and exhaust vents with 12v fans.
-Backfill all around the container with #57 stone for proper drainage.
-Backfill on top of the container with #57 stone but leave enough space to fill the last foot or 2 with topsoil.
-Camouflage as necessary.