Survivalist Forum banner

Remington 870 express or 870 wingmaster dont know what to get

26K views 12 replies 13 participants last post by  jrswanson1 
#1 ·
which shotgun is better

#2 ·
Feel free to correct me on this but the Wingmasters have a finer finish. The express models are supposed to be made with thicker receivers. From personal experience the express models rust like crazy and I will never buy one again. Mine never saw field time and it rusted just sitting in the safe. None of the other firearms rusted. I have a 20 guage Wingmaster and is one of my favorites.

#4 ·
Both are fine guns, the Wingmasters just have a few more refinements:

The Express:
A rougher, unpolished finish inside and out. More burrs.
A rough black finish.
A hardwood or synthetic stock.
Cheaper, impressed checkering.
A black bolt.
A plastic trigger group.
The new style magazine assembly with plastic parts and the "dimples".
A rougher bore in the barrel.
Uses some MIM, (moulded steel parts) in critical areas, like the extractor.

The Wingmaster:
A much smoother, polished finish inside and out. No burrs.
A polished blue finish.
Walnut or synthetic stocks with choice of gloss or satin finish.
Better quality checkering.
A chrome plated bolt.
An aluminum trigger group.
The old style steel magazine assembly, no dimples.
A much smoother bore.
No MIM parts are used in any critical area.

#8 · (Edited)
I have a 12ga. Wingmaster 3" Magnum with a 28" vent rib barrel that I have owned for about 20 years. It is a great gun but it is so nice looking that I hate taking it in the woods. So last year I bought a 870 Express 3 ½”Super Magnum with a 28” vent rib barrel. Now I have the best of both worlds! I also recently bought a 870 Express Youth model 20ga. for my wife and I am thinking of buying a 870 Express Super Slug Deer Gun as well. But there are so many models that what ever you are looking for in a pump shotgun you can find it in a Remington 870 the choice is yours.

#10 ·