Survivalist Forum banner

question about reliability 870/500/590

7K views 17 replies 13 participants last post by  webrefugee 
#1 ·
Hi guys this is my first post!

Well anyway, I've been scrutinizing and scratching my head for a few months now, casually hmming and hawing over which pump action home defense shotgun to get.

I've held an 870 18.5" 7shot, and a 590 18.5" 6 shot, and they both feel great to me. I prefer the ergonomics of the Mossberg (the flush shell elevator, the safety and the slide release location) over the 870's. They both feel great in my hands though. (I haven't had a chance to shoot either or yet and wont until I buy one.)

Before I make up my mind, I have some questions for you, the kind wise folks here. What are the differences between the 500 and the 590? Is the 590 the heavier barrel model? (I know they both have 6 and 8/9 shot models now)

Also, which butt pad is more absorbent of the recoil? (or can you recommend an aftermarket butt pad *NOT* a Pistol grip styled Knoxx or whatever, just the pad)

I've heard from my two friends each who owns the opposites that they heard reliability issues with the others brand.

And thus my main question I'm posting here is: Can you all tell me any problems you've had with either gun?

See less See more
#13 ·
Gospel.

The Limbsaver is one of the best add ons you can get for your shotgun - if not the best.

Pre-fit is the way to go, but if you ever get a shotgun they haven't made a pre-fit for yet - the slip ons work just as well.

And don't fall for any con advertisement that says it is as good or better than the Limbsaver. None of them are.

Also, don't fall for the mercury recoil absorbers. They don't do crap except make your gun off balanced.

#4 ·