Survivalist Forum banner

Jard's Garden + hanging tomatoes

15K views 43 replies 31 participants last post by  AT&T 
#1 · (Edited by Moderator)
Well I've started my garden from seeds. This is my first year, and I'm just going with the flow trying to learn as much as I can. That is what it is all about, right?

Anyway, this year I'm growing two different kinds of peppers, some tomato, beans, carrots, watermelon, cucumbers, and some potatoes.

I started them in the Jiffy "greenhouse" and it took about three days to see some sprouts. I have since started moving them to bigger pots, most of them in Jiffy dirt pots. I plan on putting all of the surviving plants into a 12 x 6 x 1.5 foot raised garden, I'm going to build that in the next few weeks.

Here are some pictures of my seedlings.

I also have read about hanging tomato plants upside down, and I want to give that a shot. I have three five gallon buckets with lids that I'm going to build.

These are pictures of my first one.

First, drill at least a 2 inch hole in both the bottom of the bucket and the lid.

Then place some type of media over the holes to keep the dirt from falling out - I used a piece of screen that I had from when my dog ripped up my sliding door.

Note: The only thing better than duct tape is camo duct tape.

The 5 gal bucket holds about 1 CU of top soil. I would suggest you pack it down a bit before you get your plant in there.

A few mistakes I've made so far (and have learned from) is I didn't feed my plants soon enough, and I lost about a dozen from that.

On this bucket I can already see that I should have planted deeper.

Once the plant is about a foot tall, I'll hang it upside down from the handle of the bucket and watch my food grow.

NOTE: I'll also be planting several plants in my garden to compare yield.
I will be doing two more buckets soon.

I will also be growing potatoes with the trash can method. I'll get pics of that too, once I get it done.

See less See more
#3 ·